The De Adriaan Windmill
On the banks of the Spaarne river, one Haarlem’s most iconic sights is the De Adriaan windmill.
Originally built as a defence tower against the Spanish and the English in the 1500 and 1600's, the windmill was rebuilt in 1778 by Adriaan de Boois to grind limestone from Bavaria to trass, used in cement and paint for brick buildings to replace the wooden ones which kept burning down.
The mill was sold again in 1802 to a tobacco merchant who produced tobacco In the time of Louis Bonaparte in the early 1800's, the mill ground tobacco as snuff was enjoyed both by Louis and the gentry of the time.
In 1865 the mill was changed again, this time to mill corn. It continued to grind corn until 1932, when a catastrophic fire burnt the mill down. In 1999, thanks to the people of Haarlem who raised 2.5 million Guilder, the current mill was rebuilt and reopened on 23 April 2002 as a museum.
The 45 minute guided tour of the windmill is not to be missed, with exhibitions of the windmill through the ages and the chance to experience the 360° views of Haarlem from the viewing platform 12 metres up. With 75 steps to climb, some on stepladders, it is sadly not for disabled visitors. Our guide, Felice, was very knowledgeable and peppered the tour with interesting and amusing facts, and even offered us some candy!
Papentorenvest 1 a
2011 AV Haarlem
Tel: + 31 23 545 0295
For current opening times and admission prices visit the official website.